Costume makeup

I’ve always loved makeup, but I’ve really only done it on myself before. This fall and spring I joined my school drama club and did the costumes and makeup for the actors. Most of the girls knew how to makeup their faces, but the boys were clueless.

A friend of mine created a short film and needed makeup done so he asked me to help out. I was a little nervous because I’ve never done costume makeup on other people but Pinterest helped me out a lot. He wanted a look that was half cyborg, half geisha, super weird I know. Anyway, the end turned out really well!

Here’s the robot side

IMG_2036

For the base silver color I used my Tarte pallet, I used smoke and mirrors (bottom left) and Slate bells ring (2nd column on left). Then for his highlight I used my bare minerals glitter shadow. I drew on the black lines with bare minerals black powder eyeliner. Last, the “screws” were done with my Ulta sparkle gel liner.

IMG_2039

Here’s the Geisha side

IMG_2037

The white is actually all talcum powder. To get the powder to stick to his face, I applied his Neutrogena foundation really tacky so that the powder had something to hold on to. It took a while to get the pigment and fully even, but the end result turned out well.

Finally, here’s the final view

IMG_2038

His eyes are lined with Jordana liner and he’s wearing Revlon red lipstick.

I had a lot of fun doing this makeup and I hope I have the chance to do more stuff like it!

Xoxo,

Sarah.A

Published by

sarahaisling26

18//dream job--Vogue Lover of all things fashion, food, and fabulous.

2 thoughts on “Costume makeup”

Leave a Reply

