A guide to healthy hair

In my years as a teen, my hair has been through a lot. I went through phases of short hair, bangs, colored hair, bleach, and lots and lots of split ends. With all the changes I’ve made, I’ve made some discoveries on what really is good and bad for your hair.

My hair is very very dark brown very straight, and in between being thick and thin. I don’t use any products on my hair daily and really don’t use an particular shampoo or conditioner. Everything I’ve come up with is based on my own hair type.

DO

Wash your hair every other night::washing every night strips away essential oils that keep your hair strong, but if you wait too long in between washes, you will have super greasy hair.

DON’T

Go to sleep with soaking wet hair::your hair is fragile, if you shower before bed brush your hair out first and give it time to dry. Going to sleep with soaking wet hair will cause your hair to break easier and in the winter cause you to be more prone to colds!

DO

Dry your hair anyway you please::I come out of the shower and put my hair up in a towel, then take it down, brush it, and dry the top of my hair with a hair dryer. I let the ends of my hair air dry because then my hair isn’t super frizzy.

DON’T

Be super rough:: like I said before, your hair must be treated gently! Turbie Twists are super great and absorbent, but the towel texture can be really damaging to your hair. What I actually do is turn the towel inside out so that the rough towel absorbent side is on the outside. That may sound like it’s defeating the point of the towel, but the water is still absorbed and the towel is much more gentle on my hair.

DO

Use protection:: it is so easy to mess up your hair with dyes, bleach, and heat. Whenever you are doing something that involves anything that changes you hairs natural form, think of investing in some sort of heat protectent and special shampoos/conditioners

DON’T

Use 5 million different products: Ok so you like your hair to look super sleek with no frizz and no fly-aways, but putting 3 different anti-frizz products in your hair every morning will eventually do more harm than help. Find a couple products that create a look you love, and stick to them! There is no need to put unnecessary chemicals into your hair.

And finally, DO

Keep it natural! You are beautiful as yourself, so let whatever type of hair you have shine!

Xoxo,

Sarah.A

**featured picture is  not my own

Published by

sarahaisling26

18//dream job--Vogue Lover of all things fashion, food, and fabulous.

2 thoughts on “A guide to healthy hair”

  1. Hi, I love this blog post! Keep up the great work!

    Feel free to check out my lush inspired blog, I’d love it if you could like/follow! Thanks have a great day!

    Justlushthings X

    Like

Leave a Reply

