Neutral Necessities

I love all things colorful, every outfit I wear has color in it, I am drawn to products with pretty colors, and I like to be surrounded by color, it makes me happy! Once my style started to mature though, I realized that all color, all the time could cause some serious wardrobe problems. I began to see the benefits of neutrals, and what do you know, I fell in love! Though in the store I always want to buy the brightest thing there, I’ve realized that there are some items that are essential in neutral colors.

Sunglasses: Sunnies are good all year round and are super useful in almost every circumstance. Being that they are needed in everyday life, sunglasses should go with every outfit you wear. Getting a pair in a neutral color will ensure that your outfit will never clash with your sunnies.

Screen Shot 2016-04-12 at 10.36.47 AM
Target
MAISY_blk-cl
Francescas

Skirts:  My closet is filled with printed tops and skirts, which when warm weather rolls around creates a problem. Though print on print is currently a trend, it is still necessary to have some basic pieces. A neutral skirt brings a more professional vibe as well as an element of simplicity.

37364049_001_e
Urban outfitters
266810410
Tillys

Pumps: Bodycon black dresses are this generation’s version of the little black dress. For me this is pretty boring so I usually go for a colored dress for my nights out. No matter what color you are wearing though, you can always count on a black or nude pump to put your outfit together.

160502_6_1400x1400
Payless
Screen Shot 2016-04-15 at 8.43.10 AM
DSW

 

Blazer: These spiffy jackets are an easy way to put together any outfit. Though bright colors can add an attention grabbing aspect to your boring work outfit, a neutral blazer is perfect for everyday wear because it goes with anything. Check out my favorited blazers in my last post: WORK it

Tights: I think tights are such an under appreciated element of an outfit. There are so many styles and colors of tights, they can totally turn an outfit around. Fishnets are extremely cool because they add sex appeal but also a visual appeal because of they texture. Black tights in general are so bad ass and can take any outfit up a notch.

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-15 at 8.49.18 AM
Discount Dance supply
Screen Shot 2016-04-15 at 8.49.43 AM
HUE

Nail polish: Your nails can totally bring an entire outfit, or in some cases ruin it! Switching seasonal colors for neutrals sometimes can add an element of class and sophistication. This grey is really cool and industrial and I’m seriously considering adding it to my collection. This nude is super sweet and simple and adds a touch of visual interest while not taking it over the top.

Screen Shot 2016-04-15 at 8.54.05 AM
OPI
Screen Shot 2016-04-15 at 8.54.19 AM
Ulta

 

Xoxo,

Sarah.A

 

Published by

sarahaisling26

18//dream job--Vogue Lover of all things fashion, food, and fabulous.

Leave a Reply

