Costa Rica

Hi everyone! So this is my first lifestyle post and I’m just going to share a little bit of what I’ve been up to these past few weeks.  As you can see I haven’t posted since last month.  Thanks to my bestie Sarah A. for keeping up the site!

While she was off in Italy, I spent 2 weeks in Costa Rica doing a leadership training program with this amazing group called Rustic Pathways.  They have so many programs and trips all over the world and I highly recommend checking their website out (http://rusticpathways.com/)

During the first of these two weeks I (along with 66 other kids my age) was trained by the rustic staff to be a counselor.  We did so many activities such as: white water rafting (which was absolutely AMAZING!), zip lining through the rain forest, repelling down a water fall, and taking a hike to a beautiful natural rock water slide.

On the second part of trip I helped run a camp for the local ticos (a term for costa rican children).  Rustic Pathways teamed up with the soccer (or fútbol) organization FIFA to help underprivileged kids have a fun summer.  In this camp everyone my age became a counselor, which was such a new and exciting experience.  We did so many fun activities with the ticos and I got the chance to build friendships with them and my fellow counselors.  Even with the language barrier (because I speak no Spanish at all) everyone was surprised by how attached these kids became to us.  It was definitely a life-changing experience for sure and I would absolutely do this trip again.

Here’s some pictures of the scenery I saw while in Costa Rica!

IMG_8744IMG_8750IMG_8907IMG_8749

Published by

sarahliz24

I'm 16 and I'm a Sephoraholic

Leave a Reply

